COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => SDK => Topic started by: platipuss on 11 Aug 2009 09:59:13 AM

Title: Set Session Parameters
Post by: platipuss on 11 Aug 2009 09:59:13 AM
There is a knowledge base article that states how to retrieve the user session variables, but after updating the account the session parameter does not work.

     PropEnum[] properties = {PropEnum.searchPath, PropEnum.parameters};
     Sort[] sortBy = { new Sort()};
     QueryOptions options = new QueryOptions();
     BaseClass[] results = cmService.query(new SearchPathMultipleObject("CAMID(\"?????\")"), properties, sortBy, options);
     if(results.length > 0){
          for (int i = 0; i < results.length; i++){
               StringProp theSearchPath = results.getSearchPath();
          System.out.println("SearchPath \t = " + theSearchPath.getValue());
                  
          // Trying to change a value of a session param
          ParameterValueArrayProp parAVP = ((Account)(results)).getParameters();
          ParameterValue[] parV = parAVP.getValue();
          for(int x=0; x<parV.length;x++){
         if(parV
  • .getName().equals("WIDGET")){
                  System.out.println("Found WIDGET");
             ParmValueItem[] PVI = parV
  • .getValue();
             SimpleParmValueItem SPVI = (SimpleParmValueItem)PVI[0];
             System.out.println("Orig: " + SPVI.getDisplay());
             SPVI.setDisplay("2");
             SPVI.setUse("2");
             System.out.println("After: " + SPVI.getDisplay());
             PVI[0] = SPVI;
             parV
  • .setValue(PVI);
              }
                }
                      
                parAVP.setValue(parV);
                // apply to actual account
                ((Account)(results)).setParameters(parAVP);
          
                for (int j = 0;j < ((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue().length ; j++)
                {
                    System.out.print(((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue()[j].getName() + "\t = ");
               // This value does return 2 as expected
               System.out.println(((SimpleParmValueItem)(((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue()[j].getValue())[0]).getDisplay());
                }
                      
                // Trying to force an update of the parameters
                PropEnum[] updateProps = {PropEnum.parameters};
                UpdateOptions updateOpts = new UpdateOptions();
                updateOpts.setReturnProperties(updateProps);
                      
                // Run the update
                cmService.update(new BaseClass[] { results }, updateOpts);
                  }
                
        }
             
       // Try to recieve the the same results again..
       results = cmService.query(new SearchPathMultipleObject("CAMID(\"?????\")"), properties, sortBy, options);
       if(results.length > 0){
          for (int i = 0; i < results.length; i++)
          {
             StringProp theSearchPath = results.getSearchPath();

             System.out.println("SearchPath \t = " + theSearchPath.getValue());
             for (int j = 0;j < ((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue().length ; j++)
             {
                System.out.print(((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue()[j].getName() + "\t = ");
                // This value returns to 1 when expected to still be 2
                System.out.println(((SimpleParmValueItem)(((Account)(results)).getParameters().getValue()[j].getValue())[0]).getDisplay());
             }
          }
       }[/color]
Title: Re: Set Session Parameters
Post by: xiska on 04 Sep 2009 05:22:18 PM
Hi

Not sure about it
is a System.out.println("Orig: " + SPVI.getUse()); possible?

It looks more like a report parameter not a user session parameter.
A user session parameter (lines per page, language, scin) has a name and a value and not a third background part.
These can be found at: PropEnum props[] = new PropEnum[] {PropEnum.searchPath, PropEnum.options};
A report parameter has a name a visible value and a background value.

please post the KB ID - might help.

greetings