COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

Legacy Business Intelligence => COGNOS ReportNet => Topic started by: Desperado on 08 Nov 2005 12:26:35 AM

Title: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: Desperado on 08 Nov 2005 12:26:35 AM
Hi All,

I have to create a report using dynamic Group By and Sort By. The report gets the inputs from a jsp.
In th java page there is a drop down for Group By which shows "Department, Plant, Unit...". These are different columns of a table in the database. So, if a user selects department in the UI from the drop down, I have to display values for all the departments based on the selection.
ie,

The output will be like this:

Dept:ap
nameÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  idÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  deptÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  groupÃ,  Ã,  Area
abcÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  1Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, apÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, buÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, NY

dept:pu
nameÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  idÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  deptÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  groupÃ,  Ã, Area
acdÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  2Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  puÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, auÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, CA


if the user selects a plant from the drop down then the o/p shd be based on the plants for all the plants.

i think i'm clear upto this point....

The next thing is after selecting group by , there is one more column called sort by in the jsp page... So, the user can select the sort by(order By) option too..like "Area, Staff, Employee..."

if the user selects group by as Department and sort by as Area the output shd be for the department in ascending order of area(location)


The o/p will be as follows:

dept:pu
nameÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  idÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  deptÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  groupÃ,  Ã, Area
acdÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  2Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  puÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, auÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, CA

Dept:ap
nameÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  idÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  deptÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  groupÃ,  Ã,  Area
abcÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  1Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, apÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, buÃ,  Ã,  Ã,  Ã, NY


How to start with this .... is there anything like dynamic groupingÃ,  and sorting as all these Department, plant, unit .. are different columns from one or different tables....

Is there any approach to start with..?

Thanks in advance.


 
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 08 Nov 2005 02:07:20 AM
check the tutorial from Reportnet_Addict...

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: Desperado on 08 Nov 2005 02:48:45 AM
can u plz tell me which exact report to look into
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 08 Nov 2005 03:04:24 AM
look for the custom sorting one...

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 08 Nov 2005 03:25:54 AM
try even using conditional blocks..

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: Near on 09 Nov 2005 02:29:31 PM
Hey,

You should avoid using conditional blocks if they contain specific sql queries.Ã,  It should be noted that even when a condition is not met, the SQL query within the block will run regardless! This can greatly effect performance.Ã, 
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 13 Nov 2005 11:41:10 PM
r u sure on the conditional block part..

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: Near on 16 Nov 2005 01:04:51 PM
It's easily tested.Ã,  However Cognos as well as some reputed experts will tell you that it does not execute the query. This simply is not true!Ã,  But test it yourself if you are in doubt.Ã, 

I was working with a somewhat lengthy complex report using several conditional blocks and execution was very slow.Ã,  We traced the results and found that in fact the query was being run even though the condition on the block was met in order to hide results. Caution should be used in cases of this kind.Ã,  I have been told that this has been fixed in 8 but I've not been able to confirm it.Ã, 

Happy testing!
::)

Ã,  Ã, 
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 17 Nov 2005 06:34:48 AM
ur r8. i checked that with cognos and they say it for an enhancement request..

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: Near on 21 Nov 2005 01:21:52 PM
Yeah right...enhancement.Ã, 

It was either an oversight or bug. I'm guessing it was a bug because most oversights are in reality bugs.Ã,  Anyway... I also was in contact with Cognos and learned that it was an enhancement for the next release and although I've not been able to confirm it, I've been told it has already been updated in version 8.

LaterÃ,  :o
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: JoeBass on 30 Nov 2005 09:49:15 AM
Does anyone have ideas of how to work around Near's observation that hidden Conditional blocks don't keep their queries from firing?  I have three lists - only one of which is shown during any given report run.  The running of the other two makes the report unusable.

A drill through type approach may work, but it wouldn't be very pretty. 
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: BIsrik on 01 Dec 2005 01:30:16 AM
the other way would be like have an IF else clause in a data itme...eg. if( ?p1? = 'A') then (Col1) else (Col2)..

Srik
Title: Re: Dynamic Grouping and Sorting in a report
Post by: JoeBass on 01 Dec 2005 09:55:01 AM
Thanks BIsrik.  If I'm understanding correctly, you're saying that I'll see a performance increase by having all fields in one big query instead of three smaller ones?