COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

Legacy Business Intelligence => COGNOS Transformer => Topic started by: robinsks on 30 May 2008 08:18:09 AM

Title: Using a batch file to run cubes
Post by: robinsks on 30 May 2008 08:18:09 AM
Hi,
I realise that this is not strictly a new topic..but the replies and code examples provided on this and other sites for writing a batch file to run cognos cubes are all different. I have tried all versions of the code with no success and I wander if anyone can please help.

My latest rendition is:-

start trnsfrmr.exe -n2 -s -k DBNAME=userid/pw model_name.pyj

which is in a batch file. I have not used the complete paths in this example code as I wanted to keep this example as simple as possible. The version of transformer that I am using is 8.3. The above code seems to run with no errors but no cube is built. As I say each previous answer to this question is different.I am not sure if this is because they apply to different versions of transformer or not.
Title: Re: Using a batch file to run cubes
Post by: Ty Clabbers on 04 Jun 2008 04:33:14 AM
Don't know about 8.3 (we have 8.1) but what does you logfile say? Useally there is a line there with the reason why there is no cube build.

Our batchfiles look something like this (again this works for 8.1):
echo
echo create variabele based on sysdate and time
set tijd_operationele_kubus=%date:~10,4%-%date:~4,2%-%date:~7,2%_%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo build new cube
"D:\Program Files\Cognos\cer4\bin\trnsfrmr" -n2 -r4 -i -dLogFileDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\Operationele kubus\output" -dMultiFileCubeThreshold=7500000 -dEnablePCOptimizer=1 -dDataSourceDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\Operationele kubus\iqd" -dCubeSaveDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\Operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%" -dDataWorkDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\TempCognos\Operationele Kubus" -dModelWorkDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\TempCognos\Operationele Kubus" -dModelSaveDirectory="D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\Operationele kubus\output" -k<DATASOURCE>=<DATABASE USER>/<PASSWORD> "D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\Operationele kubus\model\operationele_kubus.mdl"

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo rename the logfile
move "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\operationele_kubus.log"         "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%_operationele_kubus.log"

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo Move cubes from staging to working dir
xcopy  "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%"                              "\\<SERVERNAME>\d$\cognos-data\kubussen\operationele kubus\%tijd_operationele_kubus%\"  /Y /F /R /E
copy /b /y "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%_operationele_kubus.log"   "\\<SERVERNAME>\d$\cognos-data\kubussen\operationele kubus\%tijd_operationele_kubus%_operationele_kubus.log"

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo attach cubes to the datasource
start "Operationele kubus"         /D"d:\Program Files\Cognos\c8MR2\webapps\utilities\cubeSwap" /B /WAIT cubeSwap.bat -dispatchername="http://%COMPUTERNAME%:9300" -datasource="Operationele kubus"         -url="http://%COMPUTERNAME%:9300/p2pd/servlet/dispatch" -username="XXXX" -password="XXXX" -namespaceid="Series7" -windowscube="D:\cognos-data\kubussen\operationele kubus\%tijd_operationele_kubus%\operationele_kubus.mdc"

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo remove temp files (normally there are none)
del /Q /S "D:\cognos-data\Powerplay\TempCognos\Operationele Kubus"

echo ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
echo remove files from staging dir
rmdir /S /Q "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%"
del "d:\cognos-data\powerplay\operationele kubus\output\%tijd_operationele_kubus%_operationele_kubus.log"