COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 10 Platform => Cognos 10 BI => Report Studio => Topic started by: actcognosuser on 01 Feb 2024 10:12:22 AM

Title: Render value prompt based on radio button selection
Post by: actcognosuser on 01 Feb 2024 10:12:22 AM
Hi all,

Can this functionality be implemented using render variable or is javascript needed?

PROMPT PAGE

Radio button group     Valueprompt 1 Valueprompt 2  Valueprompt 3  valueprompt 4  valueprompt5
option 1
option 2
option 3
option 4

REPORT PAGES
PAGE 1
PAGE 2
PAGE 3
PAGE 4

If radio button option 1 is selected then only prompt 1 and 2 should be available to select and once selected Page 1 will be displayed

If radio button option 2 is selected then only prompt 1,2,3  should be available to select and once selected Page2 will be displayed

If radio button option 3 is selected then only prompt 1,2,4  should be available to select and once selected Page3 will be displayed

If radio button option 4 is selected then only prompt 1,2,5  should be available to select and once selected Page4 will be displayed
Title: Re: Render value prompt based on radio button selection
Post by: cognostechie on 02 Feb 2024 01:21:13 AM
Yes, it can be done using Render Variable and Javascript is not needed.

You might need two Prompt Pages, not one. The 1st Prompt Page will have Radio Button prompt and a prompt button for 'Next'. Once the user selects a value from the Radio Button, the user has to be click 'Next'. That will take the user to the 2nd Prompt Page.

Since Prompts 1 and 2 would be selected in every case so nothing needs to be done for those.

Variables:

Case When Parameterdisplayvalue('RadioButton') = 2 Then 'Prompt3' Else 'None' End
Case When Parameterdisplayvalue('RadioButton') = 3 Then 'Prompt4' Else 'None' End
Case When Parameterdisplayvalue('RadioButton') = 4 Then 'Prompt5' Else 'None' End

-- Check the syntax because I am writing without access to Cognos at the moment.

In the Prompt3, there is a property 'Render Variable'. Select the variable and select Prompt3 .
In the Prompt4, there is a property 'Render Variable'. Select the variable and select Prompt4 .
In the Prompt5, there is a property 'Render Variable'. Select the variable and select Prompt5 .

The 2nd Prompt page will have the 'Finish' prompt button.

You can use the same technique to create variables for the Report pages.

Title: Re: Render value prompt based on radio button selection
Post by: actcognosuser on 02 Feb 2024 10:09:35 AM
Thank you for the prompt response.

But the ask is to use only 1 page and toggle between options to retrieve the desired report.

Can this be done with all prompts on one page
and have only 1 report page with condition blocks.

In other words, can conditional block be rendered based on radio button and value prompt selections?
Title: Re: Render value prompt based on radio button selection
Post by: dougp on 02 Feb 2024 12:10:11 PM
yes