COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

Legacy Business Intelligence => COGNOS ReportNet => Report Studio => Topic started by: FatCat on 16 Jan 2008 01:28:15 PM

Title: Combining Codes for Prompts
Post by: FatCat on 16 Jan 2008 01:28:15 PM
I have a table where there are 3 codes in a column  .

X, Y, Z

The requiremtment is to always display Y as X.  In the prompts and the Report.

If I make a case statement on the prompt page to

Case When
[Code]= 'Y' then 'X'

What will occur is that the filter on the main query will only search for where  [Code] = X

I need to either display Y and X as only X on the prompt but have the ?parameter? set to X and Y

or

Translate on the main query that if ?paramater? contains X then the where statement should include both X and Y.  I can then later do a case statement to DISPLAY as only X later.

Thoughts on and easier approach???
[/code][/code]
Title: Re: Combining Codes for Prompts
Post by: Gopinath on 25 Apr 2008 06:48:47 AM
Step1: write a calculated column to display Y as X in the report as well as in the prompt.

Step2: Use that Calculated column in both Use and Display property of the prompt

Step3: Use the following filter condition in the report

Code = ?parameter?

Step4: Display the same calculated column in the report.