COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 10 Platform => Cognos 10 BI => Framework Manager => Topic started by: vignesvar on 26 Jun 2015 12:10:00 AM

Title: How to resolve blank space while customize dimensional attribute in FM?
Post by: vignesvar on 26 Jun 2015 12:10:00 AM
Hi all,
I modeling a dimensional package in FM10.2. When I tried to customize the attribute using the following code. It does not give any error message then doesn't display result too only blank space were display while test the query that is.

case when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_RETAINER') then ('Retainer')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_FEATURE') then ('Change request')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_SUPPORT') then ('Support')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_BUGFIX') then ('Bugfix') end


Here WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID  belongs to the level of work_effort in work hierarchy.

Thank you in advance.
Title: Re: How to resolve blank space while customize dimensional attribute in FM?
Post by: Lynn on 26 Jun 2015 02:10:08 AM
Try adding an 'else' clause to see if things are falling through the case. Review the domain of values in your data.
Title: Re: How to resolve blank space while customize dimensional attribute in FM?
Post by: vignesvar on 26 Jun 2015 04:21:49 AM
Hi lynn,
Thanks for your response I was tried IF..ELSE statement too but I can't get the result while test the query. Blank space only display on that time.
Title: Re: How to resolve blank space while customize dimensional attribute in FM?
Post by: cognostechie on 26 Jun 2015 11:58:36 AM
Try this and put this in the Business Layer, not in the DMR layer, then use this in the hierarchy in the DMR layer as a regular column. You may have to set this as membercaption and WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID as the businesskey.

case

when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_RETAINER') then ('Retainer')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_FEATURE') then ('Change request')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_SUPPORT') then ('Support')
when ([Business_Namespace].[WorkEffort].[WORK_EFFORT_PURPOSE_TYPE_ID] = 'RF_BUGFIX') then ('Bugfix')

else ('Other')
end
Title: Re: How to resolve blank space while customize dimensional attribute in FM?
Post by: vignesvar on 27 Jun 2015 12:23:47 AM
Thank you for your response cognostechie,
I made it. Thanks for your valuable information.
Have a nice day.