COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Topic started by: jmoore on 30 Aug 2007 11:47:30 AM

Title: prompt page radio button
Post by: jmoore on 30 Aug 2007 11:47:30 AM
I'm new to creating reports. I can't find an example anywhere. I want to prompt the user for one of 3 values i.e. balance>0, balance=0, or balance<0 (where balance is defined on the report page as a total). I think I'll use radio buttons for this. I then want to return the corresponding records. Does anyone have an example of what I need to do? Thanks.
Title: Re: prompt page radio button
Post by: MFGF on 31 Aug 2007 04:02:26 AM
Hi,

Try the following:
Add a prompt page to your report, and bring in a Value Prompt from the toolbox. When creating the prompt in the prompt wizard, specify a parameter name and then finish the wizard without completing any further pages.
Select the value prompt, and in its properties, select the Static Choices property and add 3 static choice values (1, 2 and 3, with display values of 'balance>0', 'balance=0' and 'balance<0'). Next select the Multi-select property and set it to 'No' and then select the Select-UI property and set it to 'Radio button group'.
Go back to your report page and add a filter to your report with the following syntax:
if (?your_parameter? = 1) then ([balance] > 0) else if (?your_parameter? = 2) then ([balance] = 0) else ([balance] < 0)

Hope that helps,

MF.
Title: Re: prompt page radio button
Post by: jmoore on 10 Sep 2007 10:28:43 AM
Thanks for your help but I get errors that filters must have boolean expressions. Any ideas?
Title: Re: prompt page radio button
Post by: jmoore on 11 Sep 2007 10:43:24 AM
I finally found a solution to this. Why the if..then..else construct doesn't work I don't know. It certainly should. Refer to http://support.cognos.com/knowledgebase/googlesearch?load_kb_document=1&dr=kb1&uniqueid=125447 which works great. Thanks for the help.