Hi,
I have a cross tab with a column name code and the value for this column is 0 and 1 . I wanted to have some text instead of 0 and 1.
I am not sure on how to achieve this, I have been trying long using conditional blocks.
Can anyone let me know the steps if we could achieve this through conditional blocks or other way.
Thanks,
Manu
In the code data item write the expression like this-
if ([code)='0') then ('A') else('B')
Hi Kishore,
My value is a numeric.
I get an error invalid to compare values with different data types.
If it was a string then it would work.
[code] value can be any number .
Thanks,
Manu
I did this once using the technique described here:
http://www.cognosonsteroids.com/2012/01/crosstab-with-non-numeric-fact.html (http://www.cognosonsteroids.com/2012/01/crosstab-with-non-numeric-fact.html)
HTH
Michael
Hi Michael,
Thanks for the link, my measure is numeric and its a quantity
qty AAAA BBBB Code
a 3 33 0
c 3 13 1
d 4 22 1
Now I have to replace the value in code column from O to a text say "ABC" and 1 to " CEF".
So what I do is create a string variable
with expression
case [Query1].
when 0 Then 'ABC'
when 1 Then 'CEF'
Else 'Null'
End
Then add 2 values to this string variable as "ABC" and "CEF".
Now when I unlock the cell and try to select only the text of code of column, all of my fact cells are selected.
I am stuck at this point,
Thanks,
Manu
@ Manu
I've gone back to the report I mentioned, and I too was basing my cell text on a quantity.
Crosstab Intersection - Text Source - Source Type : Report Expression
Report Expression : case
when [Query1].[Quantity] > 1400000 then 'lots'
when [Query1].[Quantity] > 800000 then 'medium'
when [Query1].[Quantity] > 120000 then 'little'
else 'low'
end
Try this and let us know the results.
If you're on 10.2.1.3 or greater you can use this method: http://cognospaul.com/2014/10/20/quickie-aggregating-text-cognos-crosstab/
try this:
1. create the data item you need (in my test, i created something like: if (tuple([month];[amount]) > 100) then ('A') else ('B')
2. add it to the row in your crosstab
3. go to query explorer
4. select the query
5. set override dimension info = yes
6. drag the data item in #1 into the dimension info tab, to create a new dimension
7. set your crosstab to suppress rows
8. run the report
good luck
Khayman,
Thanks for the suggestions.
Cross tab looks like
Qty Jan2014 Feb2014 Mar2014 Apr2014 CalculatedColumn Status
Account1 323 22 2 1 if(total(QTy within set(Feb,Mar,Apr))>0 then 1,Else 0) if(Calculated column =0) then 'Active' Else'InActive'
Account2 22 2 2 2 if(total(Feb,Mar,Apr)>0 then 1,Else 0)
Account3 11 0 0 0 if(total(Feb,Mar,Apr)>0 then 1,Else 0)
so now the status column will have to check the value on calculated column and assign a text based on 0 or 1.
Your post says to add it to the rows in the crosstad? and where can i find the dimension info tab.
Thanks,
Manu
oh ok. the sample crosstab i created looks like this:
Jan2014 Feb2014
Account 1 Active 20 1
Account2 Not Active 0 1
i put the active/not active in rows.
Quote from: Manu0521 on 26 Jan 2015 07:49:20 AM
Your post says to add it to the rows in the crosstad? and where can i find the dimension info tab.
if you follow my instructions, you will see the dimension info tab appear after step #5. the tab however is located at the lower portion of the Data Items window, beside Projected Data Items.