COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Topic started by: cognos8_1 on 06 Jul 2007 04:03:46 AM

Title: Javascript on Cognos 8 REPORT PAGE
Post by: cognos8_1 on 06 Jul 2007 04:03:46 AM
I have been facing some issues while working on Javascript on my report pages. It works fine on the prompt page. Is this a bug ?
Title: Re: Javascript on Cognos 8 REPORT PAGE
Post by: sir_jeroen on 06 Jul 2007 05:23:12 PM
First give an explanation before shouting "bug"....
Title: Re: Javascript on Cognos 8 REPORT PAGE
Post by: cognos8_1 on 11 Jul 2007 03:50:34 AM
 
Let me clearly explain the requirement 
1) I have a value prompt (drop down list) on my report page. Lets say, "P_Dim".
It has 3 static values - "product, product group, product type".

Now when I run my report, when I click on my value prompt (p_Dim), I could see parameter name appearing in the drop down menu along with a dotted line.

My requirement is that I shouldnt see this parameter name and dotted line. Once I click on p_Dim prompt, I should see only Product, Product Group, Product Type as drop down values.

I tried using Javascript, by dragging a HTML Item next to the prompt "p_Dimension" (UID=Dim) with the following code

<script>
document.forms["formWarpRequest"].elements["_oLstChoicesDim"].remove(0);
document.forms["formWarpRequest"].elements["_oLstChoicesDim"].remove(1);
}
</script>


This code gives required results on prompt page, but when tried with my report page prompt, it doesnt work. why so?


any help in this regard would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Title: Re: Javascript on Cognos 8 REPORT PAGE
Post by: COGNOiSe administrator on 11 Jul 2007 10:44:17 AM
Make sure your _oLstChoicesDim exists before your script executes.
Title: Re: Javascript on Cognos 8 REPORT PAGE
Post by: shri on 12 Jul 2007 01:42:33 AM
Try this

<script>
document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesDim[0].text = ' '
document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesDim[1].text = ' '
</scripts>

make sure you changed the name property of  Value Prompt to "Dim"