COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 10 Platform => Cognos 10 BI => Report Studio => Topic started by: yoniw on 16 Jul 2014 05:26:19 AM

Title: default value as a comment(*/)
Post by: yoniw on 16 Jul 2014 05:26:19 AM
Hey All:)
We have a report that contains a HUGE sql (we are using union of 7 tables).
The report is a son report (drill) from a lot of other reports we have.
we created a trick that "activates" only certain tables - we are using a token with a remark as default value (and passing space if we want to activate. it looks kind of like this:

#prompt('yoni1','token','/*')#
select * from yoni
union
#prompt('yoni2','token','*/')#

#prompt('michael1','token','/*')#
select * from michael
union
#prompt('michael2','token','*/')#

#prompt('shachar2','token','/*')#
select * from shachar
#prompt('shachar2','token','*/')#

union
select * from dual_table

the dual table is not so interesting, it is good if we have only one table we want to display (it contains nulls only).


We have a problem, we would like instead of passing /* and */ to all the tables we don't want to see, we want to make as default the /* and just pass in the drill through "space" to the tables we want.

Cognos for a reason cannot have as a default value this : */ (in the prompt control in the prompt page only! not in the sql, the sql works great!)

maybe a default value cannot start with *? or something else?

any ideas will be very helpful to me...

Regards,
Yoni



Title: Re: default value as a comment(*/)
Post by: yoniw on 16 Jul 2014 12:46:50 PM
already got it,
Thanks anyway.