COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 10 Platform => Cognos 10 BI => Report Studio => Topic started by: ToriBurns on 19 May 2014 09:15:18 PM

Title: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 19 May 2014 09:15:18 PM
Good day everyone!

I am having a problem with a value prompt. I have a value prompt that is required and that has a null value. I set 'Yes' to its property auto-submit. But, whenever I choose the null on the prompt it throws an error:
DPR-ERR-2056       The Report Server is not responding.

or sometimes:
DPR-ERR-2077       Failed to forward the request because the associated external process with PID 10788 is unavailable, either because the process is shutting down, or this was an absolute affinity request and the requested process does not exist anymore. For more information, enable the dispatcher and the external process detailed logs, and reproduce the conditions that caused the error.

Does anyone know how to fix this? :-[
Any help is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance. :)

Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: Francis aka khayman on 20 May 2014 12:32:14 AM
is the source a query? how about filtering out the null value?

[use value] is not null

Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 20 May 2014 12:44:45 AM
It's a data item. But, how would I filter null? if I would write [data item] is not null ?
I tried your suggestion and there was an error thrown:

DPR-ERR-2065
      The response from Report Server is not well formed. No response envelope is received.
:(
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: navissar on 20 May 2014 12:53:17 AM
Yeah, passing null values means passing no values. You want to filter out the null value, by filtering the prompt query.
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 20 May 2014 01:16:39 AM
Hi Nimrod,
do you have any solution or suggestion to fix this? For now I have a work around but not yet sure if it will be okay with the users. I set a value on my prompt when it is null (nvl([data item], '(BLANK)') and on the crosstab that it filters I set that if the value I set for null was chosen, the data that should be rendered on that specific data item is null.
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: Francis aka khayman on 20 May 2014 01:34:37 AM
looks like the source of your filter is a query.

1. open the query explorer
2.select the query used by your prompt
3. drag the data item you are using in your prompt in the filters section
4. write this expression [Data Item] is not null (replace [Data Item] with whatever data item you are using in the prompt)

Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 20 May 2014 02:26:48 AM
Thanks Khayman. But, I need to allow the user to choose that null, that's why I am not preventing it from being one of the items in the list.
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: Francis aka khayman on 20 May 2014 04:30:47 AM
ok that clears things a bit...

how's your approach?
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 20 May 2014 08:39:25 PM
 I set a value on my prompt when it is null (nvl([data item], '(BLANK)') and on the crosstab that it filters I set that if the value I set for null which is '(BLANK)' was chosen, the data that should be rendered on that specific data item is null or that data item should be filtered with null.

Sample code for prompt data item:
nvl([data item], '(BLANK)')

Sample code for filter:

if(?Parameter? = '(BLANK)')
then
([data item] is null)
else
([data item] = ?Parameter?)
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: Francis aka khayman on 20 May 2014 08:43:07 PM
is it working?
Title: Re: Error when null in value prompt was chosen
Post by: ToriBurns on 20 May 2014 08:46:08 PM
Yes :)
But, I'm not sure if they would like to see a '(BLANK)' on the prompt or just a literal blank.