COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Report Studio => Topic started by: sram007 on 16 May 2012 02:35:11 PM

Title: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: sram007 on 16 May 2012 02:35:11 PM
Hi,
I have a List report contains single dataitem called Country Name.It contains only 3 rows like,
US
UK
India
,

If i click the India it should navigate to other Report1 Using drillthrough.
if i click US it should navigate to other Report2,
If i click the UK it should navigate to other Report3,

Please help me out
Thanks in Advance
Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: pricter on 16 May 2012 02:44:11 PM
It is strange that I refer the same video twice today.
What are you trying to do you can describe it as conditional drill through
Check the following video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Knul2EGA0TM
Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: shricognos on 17 May 2012 04:44:26 AM
HI pricter,
  i have solution for this,
1. first insert the data item which having 3coloms(India,uk,us). asign drill through to INDIA report.
2. unlock and insert same data item below in the same colom. asign drill through to UK report.
3. again insert the data tiem in the colom. asign drill through to US report.
4. take ROWNUM() from tool box and insert left to countries. and
   so that u can see list like below.

  rno               countries               
--------        ------------------
<rno>        <country_name>
                   <country_name>
                   <country_name>
  --------       -------------------
  <rno>         <country_name>
                    <country_name>
                    <country_name>
----------        -------------------
  <rno>         <country_name>
                    <country_name>
                    <country_name>
5. now take string variable with condition
    case
   when(rownum()=1) then 'a'
   when(rownum()=1) then 'b'
   when(rownum()=1) then 'c'
  end
6. add values.
7. assign string value as render value to country dataitem.
         a-> 1st row, this is navigated to INDIA report.
         b-> 1st row, this is navigated to UK report.
         c-> 1st row, this is navigated to US report.

   
Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: sram007 on 17 May 2012 11:58:48 AM
Hi Shrikanth/Pricter,
Thanks for your reply :)
I got your Point.
But when i in the output  i can able to see only i one data item

Thanks in Advance
Ram
Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: sram007 on 17 May 2012 11:59:34 AM
Hi Shrikanth/Pricter,
Thanks for your reply :)
I got your Point.
But when i in the output  i can able to see only i one data item

Thanks in Advance
Ram
Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: shricognos on 18 May 2012 12:56:50 AM
Hi sram,

1. did u write below expression in string variable.?
    case
        when(Rownum()=1) then 'a'
        when(Rownum()=2) then 'b'
        when(Rownum()=3) then 'c'
    end
2. did u assigned these values with UNLOCK the report.?
    a->India. it is first dataitem.
    b-> UK. it is 2nd data item.
    c-> US, it is 3rd data item.

Note: Yesterday i did ur requirement with sample data.

Title: Re: How to create -Row Level Drill through
Post by: shricognos on 21 May 2012 12:55:43 AM
Hi Sram,
   Let me know, did u do that or not.?