COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => COGNOS Connection => Topic started by: hiranb on 20 Mar 2012 08:51:51 AM

Title: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: hiranb on 20 Mar 2012 08:51:51 AM
Hi,

When users logon to cognos namespace then I have to display some text above the 'Please type your credentials for authentication.'on the logon page. Could anyone let me know if this is possible? thanks
Title: Re: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: Grim on 21 Mar 2012 07:49:40 AM
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data/library/cognos/page41.html

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data/library/cognos/infrastructure/portals/page507.html

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/c8bi/v8r4m0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.swg.im.cognos.ug_cra.8.4.1.doc/ug_cra_i_ImplementingaCustomWelcomePage.html
Title: Re: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: hiranb on 21 Mar 2012 09:33:05 AM
I went through those articles which mention about welcome page but not logon page. I would like modify changes on logon page not on the cognos connection. Thanks for the info.
Title: Re: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: Grim on 21 Mar 2012 10:03:02 AM
Can't seem to find anything on Cognos 8.4 stuff.

C10 stuff...
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/cbi/v10r1m0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.swg.im.cognos.ug_cra.10.1.0.doc%2Fug_cra_id37331customize_login_page.html

..but c10 is a bit different.
Title: Re: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: hiranb on 22 Mar 2012 07:21:19 AM
This article does not apply for cognos 8.4
Title: Re: customize cognos8.4 logon page
Post by: joe123 on 26 Jun 2012 06:49:49 AM
You can create a custom login page to show up any information you want.

taken from http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21382294

<html>
<head>
<title>Using URLs</title>
</head>
<body>

<script language="JavaScript">

function submitForm() {

//submit the form and redirect to a new window
repWindow = window.open(document.logon.submit());

//this alert slows down the window open/close allowing the form to be submitted
alert("Transfering to Cognos Connection");
repWindow.close();
location.href= 'http://localhost/cognos8/cgi-bin/cognos.cgi?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/cc.xts&gohome=';
}

</script>

<form  name="logon" method="POST" action="http://localhost/cognos8/cgi-bin/cognos.cgi" >

<input type="hidden" name="h_CAM_action" value="logon"><br> 
<input type="hidden" name="m" value="portal/main.xts"><br>

<input type="hidden" name="b_action" value="xts.run"><br>
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="2">
<tr>
<td colspan="6" height="10" bgcolor="#E7E7E7"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="6"><img src="skins/classic/branding/banner_cogsquare.gif"><font face="Verdana" size="2"><b>Cognos 8 URL Samples</b></font></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td colspan="6" height="1" bgcolor="#CCCCCC"></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td colspan="6" bgcolor="#cccce3"><font face="Tahoma" size="3"><b>This SDK sample allows you to Logon to Cognos 8</font></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="6" height="4" ></td>

</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="6" height="1" bgcolor="#003399"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="6" height="4" ></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>

<!-- Prompt for userID -->
<font  color="#003399" face="Tahoma" size="2"><b>User ID:</b></font>
</td>
<td align="left">
<input type="text" name="CAMUsername" size="35" ></input>
</td>
<td rowspan="6" colspan="4" width="50%" valign="top"></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>
<!-- Prompt for password -->
<font face="Tahoma" color="#003399" size="2"><b>Password:</b></font>
</td>
<td>
<input type="password" name="CAMPassword" size="35" ></input>
</td>

</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<!-- Prompt for namespace -->
<font color="#003399" face="Tahoma" size="2"><b>Namespace ID:</b></font>
</td>
<td>
<input type="text" name="CAMNamespace" size="35" ></input>

</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>
<p><button style="background-color: white; font-size: 80%;padding:5px; white-space:nowrap;" onClick="submitForm();"><font color="#003399" face="Tahoma" size="2">Login

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>

</body>
</html>



Once, it did something more advanced like that eg with check for cookies. I'll check if i still have the source code.