COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Report Studio => Topic started by: jd on 08 Oct 2010 08:41:07 AM

Title: How to RESET Value prompt and Text prompt values
Post by: jd on 08 Oct 2010 08:41:07 AM
I have couple value prompts and couple text prompts in prompt page. I need to add RESET button to the prompt page.

Ex: if I select some thing in value prompt and text prompt when I click on RESET button prompt values shoud be clear in value prompt and text prompt.

using some java script I was able to clear only the value prompt values not the the text prompt values. below is the script. Please any one can help me how to achive this??

<button style="" 
onclick="preventSubmitEvent(event); resetPrompts();"
onkeypress="if (event.keyCode==13){event.keyCode=0;} return true;"
onkeyup="if (event.keyCode==13){event.keyCode=0; onclick();} return true;"
>  &nbsp;&nbsp;Reset&nbsp;&nbsp;  </button>

<script>
/*var intNum = setInterval("testLoad();",250);
function testLoad()
{
   if (document.readyState=="complete")
   {
      clearInterval(intNum);
      startUp();
   }
}
function startUp()
{
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesREGION.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLOCATION.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};
   
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLQA.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesUQA.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLDA.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesUDA.onchange=function(){objChange(this);};


}*/
function resetPrompts()
{
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesREGION.selectedIndex=-1;
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLOCATION.selectedIndex=-1;
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLQA.selectedIndex=-1;
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesUQA.selectedIndex=-1;
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesLDA.selectedIndex=-1;
   document.formWarpRequest._oLstChoicesUDA.selectedIndex=-1;
}

</script>
Title: Re: How to RESET Value prompt and Text prompt values
Post by: Lynn on 08 Oct 2010 09:33:23 AM
Although people don't generally seem interested in non-Java Script approaches when asking a Java Script question....

I would consider putting a drill through to the same report on the prompt page. If your prompt page renders quickly (as it should) then this just re-loads the report -- effectively setting all prompts back to their original state.