COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

Legacy Business Intelligence => COGNOS ReportNet => Topic started by: kalyan_sekhar1 on 13 Feb 2006 10:45:52 PM

Title: Opening as a POPUP windows
Post by: kalyan_sekhar1 on 13 Feb 2006 10:45:52 PM
Hi All,

In the Reports, we implemented Drill Through. So when we click on a Value it opens the reports. Now the report which is opened should not contain the Address Bar and Toolbar (As POPup window). I shouldnt make any changes to rv.js as its a Cognos Property file. how do i achieve the popupwindows when clicked on Drill through value

Thanks
Title: Re: Opening as a POPUP windows
Post by: kalyan_sekhar1 on 24 Feb 2006 09:39:56 AM
Hi All,

Atlast i got a ray of hope that drill through reports can be opened as POP UP windows without modifying the rv.js(As Cognos special love towards that)

We need to write dow a Page Load script which will be fired when ever the report is called. Here is the code sample. Place this in your page and call the function in Body onLoad method

<script type='text/javascript'>
function SetWindow()
{
     var height = 400                      //Set height
     var width = 400                        //Set width
     var name = "winname"             //Set window name
     var top = 20                             //Set distance from top
     var left = 20                             //Set distance from bottom

     if(document.location.search=='')  {
       newwin=window.open(document.location + "?newwin=true", name, "fullscreen=no,toolbar=no,status=no,menubar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=no,directories=no,location=no,width=" + width + ",height=" + height + ",left=" + left + ",top=" + top);
this.focus();
self.opener = this;
self.close();
     }
}
</script>

...............................

If any body has more refined version please post the same. As the above method will load the page again. Any new approaches/ideas are welcome

Thanks
Title: Re: Opening as a POPUP windows
Post by: brucer on 28 Feb 2006 09:56:21 AM
Not sure if this is what you want, but you can also check the "Open in new window" box in the Drill Throughs properties window in ReportStudio.

Title: [SOLVED] Re: Opening as a POPUP windows
Post by: kalyan_sekhar1 on 01 Mar 2006 12:27:34 AM
Definetly not this, as its already implemeted. As you can see with that option, u will have a new window ... but u cant get rid of the address bar, toolbar of the window... So i want something as a POPUP window with out modifying in rv.js ( this file is responsible for opening new window when u click drill thru link)

I am closing this topic, as i didnt heared from any body... Thinking this is the best apporach

Bye