COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Report Studio => Topic started by: herdan on 15 Jun 2010 04:02:54 AM

Title: use conditional explorer to hide a range of rows in a list ?
Post by: herdan on 15 Jun 2010 04:02:54 AM
Hi guys,

Using RS 8.4 on framework.
I have following request. I have a list of customers and revenues as follows:
customer    revenue
A              6000
B              4000
C              2000
D              0
E              -3000
F              -5000
G              -7000

Now, using a Positive (eg 4000) and Negative (eg -3500) value prompt, I want to hide/exclude a range of rows so that the result list would be
customer    revenue
A              6000
B              4000
F              -5000
G              -7000

I tried using a filter ([revenue] >= ?Positive? and [revenue] < ?Negative?) but my list is empty.

How can I do this using Conditional Explorer ? The positive and negative values can differ according to the user requirement.

Any ideas are appreciated
Title: Re: use conditional explorer to hide a range of rows in a list ?
Post by: MFGF on 15 Jun 2010 04:48:33 AM
Quote from: herdan on 15 Jun 2010 04:02:54 AM
Hi guys,

Using RS 8.4 on framework.
I have following request. I have a list of customers and revenues as follows:
customer    revenue
A              6000
B              4000
C              2000
D              0
E              -3000
F              -5000
G              -7000

Now, using a Positive (eg 4000) and Negative (eg -3500) value prompt, I want to hide/exclude a range of rows so that the result list would be
customer    revenue
A              6000
B              4000
F              -5000
G              -7000

I tried using a filter ([revenue] >= ?Positive? and [revenue] < ?Negative?) but my list is empty.

How can I do this using Conditional Explorer ? The positive and negative values can differ according to the user requirement.

Any ideas are appreciated

A filter should be just fine for this.  I think the issue is with the syntax you tried.

Try coding it as

([revenue] >= ?Positive? or [revenue] < ?Negative?)

and make sure that the filter has its timing set to after default aggregation.

MF.
Title: Re: use conditional explorer to hide a range of rows in a list ?
Post by: herdan on 15 Jun 2010 06:05:43 AM
MFGF,

Thanks for pointing that out . Where was my head when I wrote this  ???

Anyway, it's working now.

Thanks again.